Site icon Live Metal

Curse of Cain releases visualizer for new single ‘Hurt’

Swedish sci-fi metal band Curse of Cain, which will release its self-titled debut album on May 12, 2023, via Atomic Fire Records, has shared the new single “Hurt” with an accompanying visualizer.

The dystopian song leads the listener through a lost world built by the band with bassist Jonas “The Pirate” Asplind (ex-Follow The Cipher, ex-Ad Infinitum). Asplind also directed and edited the video.

“‘Hurt’ is one of the heavy songs on this album: aggressive and dark with a lot of emotions, garnished by some great guest growls from producer Alexander Backlund (Letters from the Colony),” the band said.

Watch the “Hurt” visualizer below. Stream/purchase the track here.

Check out the band’s official music videos for “Alive” and “Embrace Your Darkness,” as well as their companion live editions, here.

View the first four segments of the band genesis at the Curse of Cain YouTube page here.

Curse of Cain’s inaugural studio offering is in a world of its own. More theater play than metal record, the record acts as a dystopian narrative set in a lost world where each band member becomes a bizarre character, fulfilling a role that goes far beyond making music with some pals. Elaborating on the ecclesiastical and bloodthirsty story of Cain, son to Adam and Eve and thought by some to be the father of all vampires, the album follows this cursed character through his immortality in a ruinous and crumbling world.

Recorded between 2017 and 2020 in the band’s own studio with Alexander Backlund handling producing and mixing duties, “Curse of Cain” is the overture to an epic poem the world of heavy metal has not yet seen. The Pirate’s former bandmate Ken Kängström (Follow the Cipher) contributes some songwriting, and Tommy Johansson (Sabaton, Majestica) tracked a guitar solo for opening track “The Mark.”

“Curse of Cain” will be available on CD jewelcase, LP on orange vinyl and digitally.

Pre-order the album here in the physical format of your choice, pre-save it on your favorite DSP or pre-order it digitally to receive “Hurt,” “Embrace Your Darkness” and “Alive” now.

Curse of Cain:

The Soulkeeper – vocals
The Timekeeper – guitars
The Pirate – bass, vocals
Rainbow – vocals, percussion
The Mechanic – drums

Exit mobile version