Philip H. Anselmo & the Illegals to release new album Jan. 26

Philip H. Anselmo & the Illegals have set a Jan. 26, 2018, release date for their second album, “Choosing Mental Illness as a Virtue,” via Housecore Records. The record is the follow-up to 2013’s “Walk Through Exits Only.”

Listen to the new album’s first single, “Choosing Mental Illness,” here.

Preorders are available now via all digital outlets with physical preorder bundles to be unveiled via the Housecore Store here.

“It ain’t pretty,” Anselmo said. “It’s more straightforward and cohesive to a degree, but it still goes off the rails here and there. We went through it song after song cut and fucking dry. I was in a specific mindset. I wanted to further my endeavors into a genre of music that I adore. As all 10 songs blow by, I wanted an unforgiving feel. This is what was on my mind. It’s a recorded capsule of time.”

Following a successful maiden touring cycle for the Illegals frontman hunkered down at his home studio in Louisiana to record what would become “Choosing Mental Illness as a Virtue” in 2014 and 2015. The lineup shifted as Stephen Taylor (Superjoint) transitioned from bass to guitar, Mike DeLeon (Flesh Horder, Being Killed, ex-MOD, et al) joined as a guitarist, and Walter Howard (Grieved, Oppressive Force) took over bass duties. Meanwhile, Jose Manuel “Blue” Gonzalez (Superjoint, Warbeast) held down the drums. Through rigorous rehearsals and writing sessions, a framework for the new music took shape as Anselmowholeheartedly welcomed the ideas of his cohorts.

“Their creative input is fucking fantastic,” he said. “This is something that was very different from the first record where I was very staunch. I wanted it to be ugly. I was very firm that I was writing every fucking note. The thought was, ‘This is my contribution to ugly music right this second in a heavy metal vein.’ That was great at the time. “Walk Through Exits Only” made its own little statement that I am a free agent and I belong to no single band. This time, I worked closely with everyone. We tried different ideas together. It made the spirit of this thing come alive even more because of the enthusiasm these guys bring. It enhanced the integrity of the project.”

“‘Choosing Mental Illness as a Virtue’ is going to get hated. It’s going to get loved. Like every record I’ve ever done, I put zero expectations upon my peers, critics, or the general fucking public,” Anselmo said. “If you take one thing away from it, let it be this: Do not bog yourself down to one brand, character or whatever. Have the guts to spread your wings and fucking flourish. I can promise you this is a beginning. As my music trickles out over the next two years, it’s going to be quite the roller coaster ride. This new Illegals is just the tip of the whole fucking avalanche.”

“Choosing Mental Illness as a Virtue’ track listing:
1. “Little Fucking Heroes”
2. “Utopian”
3. “Choosing Mental Illness”
4. “The Ignorant Point”
5. “Individual”
6. “Delinquent”
7. “Photographic Taunts”
8. “Finger Me”
9. “Invalid Colubrine Frauds”
10. “Mixed Lunatic Results”

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: