Black Label Society to reissue ‘Sonic Brew,’ play entire album on tour

Entertainment One has licensed the complete back catalog of Black Label Society, the band led by guitar icon Zakk Wylde. In addition to the band’s past three albums, which were released on eOne, the company has licensed the following titles: “Sonic Brew,” “Stronger Than Death,” “1919 Eternal,” “The Blessed Hellride,” “Hangover Music Vol. VI,” “Mafia” and “Shot to Hell.” Fans can expect these titles in never-before-released formats during the next few years.

eOne’s Scott Givens said, “I’m delighted to expand our partnership with Zakk and Black Label Society to now include all his amazing earlier work.”

Black Label Society also has announced its “20 Years of Sonic Brewtality Tour,” a new batch of 2019 North American tour dates in conjunction with the release of a new, reimagined version of the band’s 1999 debut LP, “Sonic Brew,” on May 17, titled “Sonic Brew – 20th Anniversary Blend 5.99 – 5.19.”

“The original recording back in 1997 was mastered with high volume, alcohol,and dance,” Wylde said. “We went in and worked off the existing performances and focused on the high volume and dance while replacing the booze with viagra and anabolic steroids.”

The new re-blended version of “Sonic Brew” will feature two new bonus tracks, a full band/piano version of “Spoke in the Wheel” and an acoustic version of “Black Pearl.”

“I wanted to re-blend and re-choreograph this release to be the most brewtal and dance-tactic album since Gloria Gaynor’s ‘I Will Survive” dominated the dance floor at Studio 54!” Wylde said.

On the tour, the band will play two shows in each market. The first night will feature “Sonic Brew” played in its entirety, while the second night will see the band play a set of greatest hits. Support will come from Conan and The Atomic Bitchwax. Black Label Society also will participate in U.S festivals Sonic Temple, Epicenter and Welcome to Rockville on this run.

Dates begin April 24 at the Oriental Theater in Denver and wrap up in Los Angeles at the famous El Rey Theater for two nights, ending on May 23. Tickets will go on sale Friday, Feb. 1.

“Sonic Brew” initially was released in Japan on Oct. 28, 1998, and contained 13 tracks and a free Zakk Wylde guitar pick. The album subsequently was released in North America on May 4, 1999, with three bonus tracks including a cover of Ozzy Osbourne’s “No More Tears,” recorded with bassist Mike Inez of Alice in Chains.


Apr-24 Denver, CO The Oriental Theater
Apr-25 Denver, CO The Oriental Theater
Apr-27 Dallas, TX Canton Hall
Apr-28 Dallas, TX Canton Hall
Apr-30 Chicago, IL Concord Music Hall
May-01 Chicago, IL Concord Music Hall
May-04 Jacksonville, FL Welcome To Rockville
May-06 New York, NY The Bowery Ballroom
May-07 New York, NY The Bowery Ballroom
May-11 Rockingham, NC Epicenter
May-14 Toronto, ON Opera House
May-15 Toronto, ON Opera House
May-17 Columbus, OH Sonic Temple
May-18 Clarksville, TN O’Connors
May-22 Los Angeles, CA El Rey Theatre
May-23 Los Angeles, CA El Rey Theatre

mail (1)

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: