Saxon to release ‘Inspiration’ covers album

Veteran British metal band Saxon will release “Inspirations,” an album featuring covers of 11 classic rock songs, on March 19, 2021, via Silver Linings Music. The first single, the band’s take on The Rolling Stones’ “Paint It Black,” is available now. Pre-order the album here.

“Loved this band since I first saw them and heard them,” vocalist Biff Byford said. “I liked the Beatles, but the Stones appealed to my rebel side; their iconic look … so many great songs, such a great attitude in the music.”

“Inspirations” was recorded at Brockfield Hall near York in the U.K., which was built in 1804 and holds the largest collection of paintings by Yorkshire’s impressionist artists–the Staithes Group.

“The warmth and feel of ‘Inspirations’ had so much to do with being together in this magnificent place and doing it ‘old-school’ style,” Byford said. “This is how many bands back in the day -including some of the ones covered here- made such great albums, so it just felt really good to be able to do this somewhere like Brockfield Hall.”

“Inspirations” track list:

1. Paint It Black (The Rolling Stones)
2. Immigrant Song (Led Zeppelin)
3. Paperback Writer (The Beatles) 
4. Evil Woman (Black Sabbath) 
5. Stone Free (Jimi Hendrix) 
6. Bomber (Motörhead)
7. Speed King (Deep Purple) 
8. The Rocker (Thin Lizzy) 
9. Hold The Line (Toto)
10. Problem Child (AC/DC) 
11. See My Friends (The Kinks)

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: