Spiritbox to release debut album ‘Eternal Blue’ on Sept. 17

Candian metal outfit Spiritbox will release its long-awaited debut album, “Eternal Blue,” on Sept. 17, 2021, via Rise Records. Pre-orders are available here.

The band also has premiered a new single, “Secret Garden,” which is available on all streaming platforms. The official music video can be seen below.

“We are very anxious to release our album,” vocalist Courtney LaPlante said. “It is a body of work we have been accumulating for over two years. Having the recording process put on hold for so long due to the pandemic has made me see that I can never take the experience of tracking an album for granted ever again. 

“I must say that although we never intended to wait so long to do this record, I think it did help the songs become stronger. I am so happy with every single song, I wish I could release each one as a single with a music video. They all reflect different moments and influences in our lives. We have had enough time to release the exact music we would like to put out into the world, with no need to compromise. Every single note and every single syllable is the music that we have always dreamed of making and we are very proud of it.”

Discussing the single “Secret Garden,” LaPlante said: “I think this is the most scared I’ve been to put out a song, because I realize as we continue to release music in single format, listeners can start to assume what kind of band we are and are alarmed when we do not meet those assumptions. I want to continue to showcase the fluidity that is inherent in heavy music, and Even though this is just one part of a full body of work that may not sound exactly like this song, it is a song that we love and are obsessed with. I celebrate variation. ‘Secret Garden’ is exciting to me, for this reason. I’m scared but excited, like I’m about to hit the big drop on a roller coaster, and I’m fully embracing that.”

This album and single announcement comes hot on the heels of the band’s release earlier this month of the single “Circle with Me,” which charted on Billboard at number one Hard Rock Digital Song Sales, number five Hot Hard Rock Songs, number nine Rock Songs Core Genre, number 12 Rock Digital Songs, number 50 Hot Rock & Alternative Songs and number71 Digital Songs. The track already has totaled 4.3 million streams to date.

Prior to “Circle with Me,” Spiritbox released two breakout, hit singles last year, the heartbreaking and otherworldly “Constance” and the unrelentingly brutal “Holy Roller,” which debuted at number 25 on Billboard’s Hot Hard Rock Songs and charted as the number 1 song of 2020 on SiriusXM’s Liquid Metal.

The band released “Constance Reimagined” this past weekend, in conjunction with The Grammy Museum COLLECTION:live #spotlightsaturdays in partnership with BMG. The band performed an acoustic rendition of the song featuring a string quartet and filmed in a church. Watch the full performance here.

Spiritbox also is scheduled to perform at a number of major festivals across Europe and the United States this year, including:

Aug. 28 – Reading Festival, UK
Aug. 29 – Leeds Festival, UK
Sept. 9 – Blue Ridge Rock Festival, Danville, VA
Sept. 25 – Louder Than Life, Louisville, KY
Oct. 26-29 – Coheed & Cambria S.S. Neverender Cruise, Miami to Bahamas 
Nov. 11 – Welcome to Rockville, Daytona Beach, FL

Head to Spiritbox.com for tickets and information.

“Eternal Blue” track listing:

1. Sun Killer
2. Hurt You
3. Yellowjacket feat. Sam Carter
4. The Summit
5. Secret Garden
6. Silk in the Strings
7. Holy Roller
8. Eternal Blue
9. We Live in a Strange World 
10. Halcyon
11. Circle with Me
12. Constance

Named after a device some believe is capable of communicating with the dead and led by married duo Courtney LaPlante and Michael Stringer, Spiritbox made its debut with a self-released EP in October 2017, quickly building a cult following. In 2018, the duo found its musical counterpart in bass player Bill Crook and partnered with Pale Chord Music to continue to create and release music in single and EP formats. The band signed with Rise Records in fall 2020.

LaPlante and Stringer previously were members of iwrestledabearonce, while Crook is a member of Living with Lions.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: