Volbeat announces eight-date headline tour

Multi-platinum Danish band Volbeat has announced its first headline shows in nearly two years. Punctuated by festival appearances at Rebel Rock (Orlando, Florida, Sept. 23, 2021) and Aftershock Festival (Sacramento, California, Oct. 8, 2021), the eight-date headline run will see the band coming to cities including Atlanta, San Diego and Los Angeles. Special guests The Hu, Twin Temple and Municipal Waste will appear at select dates. Tickets will go on sale here at 10 a.m. local time Friday, July 23.

Volbeat 2021 tour dates:

Fri 9/24 – Atlanta, GA at Tabernacle*
Sun, 9/26 – Oklahoma City, OK at The Criterion*
Tue, 9/28 – San Antonio, TX at Sunken Garden Amphitheater^
Wed, 9/29 – Lubbock, TX at Lonestar Amphitheater^
Sat, 10/2 – San Diego, CA at The Observatory North Park #
Wed, 10/6 – Los Angeles, CA at Hollywood Palladium %
Sat, 10/9 – Paso Robles, CA at Vina Robles Amphitheatre*
Sun, 10/10 – Oakland, CA at The Fox Theater*
* Twin Temple
^ The Hu & Twin Temple
# Municipal Waste & Twin Temple
% Municipal Waste

Volbeat also recently released the music video for its current single “Wait a Minute My Girl.” The video was directed by Sean Donnelly, founder of AWESOME+modest, with collages by Mengqing Yuan and animation by Steve Yeung. AWESOME+modest is an animation studio based in Los Angeles, California, that specializes in mixed media techniques. It most recently created all of the animation in the HBO documentary miniseries “The Lady and the Dale,” Marvel’s “Behind the Mask” and Showtime’s “The One and Only Dick Gregory.”

The band said of the video: “After seeing the work they did on ‘The Lady and the Dale,’ we knew that Sean and the team at Awesome+modest could do something trippy and creative for ‘Wait a Minute My Girl.’ This video exceeded even our wildest expectations. It’s weird, fun and crazy—we absolutely love it.”

Along with “Wait a Minute My Girl,” Volbeat also recently shared its song “Dagen Før.” The two tracks, the band’s first new music since 2019’s album “Rewind, Replay, Rebound,” were written and recorded while the world was in lockdown during the pandemic. Vocalist/guitarist Michael, bassist Kaspar Boye Larsen and drummer Jon Larsen recorded their parts with longtime producer Jacob Hansen in Denmark, while guitarist Rob Caggiano worked remotely from New York.

“Wait a Minute My Girl” features saxophone player Doug Corcoran and piano player Raynier Jacob Jacildo, who both perform with JD McPherson’s band and previously appeared with Volbeat on 2019’s “Die to Live (feat. Neil Fallon).” Singer Mia Maja, who has worked with the band since “Seal the Deal & Let’s Boogie,” also appears on backing vocals. “Dagen Før” features guest vocals from Danish artist Stine Bramsen, who is known for her solo work as well as being a member of the band Alphabeat. The song, in the tradition of “The Garden’s Tale,” “Maybele I Hofteholder” and “For Evigt,” features both English and Danish lyrics, and marks the first commercially released song that features Bramsen singing in her native Danish.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑