Dream Theater releases animated music video for ‘The Alien’

Dream Theater has released an animated music video for “The Alien,” the opener of its upcoming 15th studio album, “A View from the Top of the World.” The record is set for an Oct. 22, 2021, release via InsideOutMusic/Sony Music. It is available for pre-order in various configurations at https://dream-theater.lnk.to/AViewFromTheTopOfTheWorld.

“It’s the first one we wrote together. It gives people a window into what it was like when we initially met up after all of those months off. It has the adventure, the untraditional structure, the heaviness, and the hooks. It really set the tone for the album,” guitarist John Petrucci said. “(Vocalist) James (LaBrie) wrote the lyrics about the idea of terraforming and looking beyond our Earth for alternative settlements. Since we’re going beyond our planet, ‘The Alien’ turns out to be us. I thought it was a cool and creative lyric by James.”

“A View from the Top of the World” will be available in a limited Deluxe Box including Gatefold 2LP (180g bright gold vinyl) with exclusive alternate cover, limited deluxe 2CD+Blu-ray Artbook with exclusive alternate cover, Zoetrope Slipmat, Beanie, Enamel Keychain, 8 x Artcards, Poster and Hand-Numbered Certificate of Authenticity in a Lift-off Lid Box. The album also is available in a limited Deluxe 2CD+Blu-ray Artbook, Special Edition CD Digipak and Gatefold 180g 2LP+CD+LP-booklet. The Blu-ray contains a 5.1 surround sound mix with full album animations, plus “Digging for a Spark – A View From Inside DTHQ,” a specially filmed documentary that gives a glimpse behind the scenes of the band’s new home base and the making of the new album.

The album also is available for pre-order digitally, and fans who pre-order the digital version will receive an instant download of “The Alien.”

“A View from the Top of the World” was produced by John Petrucci, engineered and additional production by James “Jimmy T” Meslin and mixed/mastered by Andy Sneap.

“A View from the Top of the World” track listing:

1) The Alien (9:32)
2) Answering the Call (7:35)
3) Invisible Monster (6:31)
4) Sleeping Giant (10:05)
5) Transcending Time (6:25)
6) Awaken the Master (9:47)
7) A View from the Top of the World (20:24)

Dream Theater also is planning to hit the road in support of the new album. The “Top of the World Tour” of North America kicks off on Oct. 28 in Mesa, Arizona, and runs through Dec. 14, when it will conclude in St. Petersburg, Florida. Information on tickets for all upcoming shows, as well as VIP packages, can be found at www.dreamtheater.net.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑