Mark Tremonti to release Sinatra covers album benefiting NDSS

Mark Tremonti, Grammy Award winner and founding member of hard rock bands Alter Bridge, Creed and Tremonti, is partnering with the National Down Syndrome Society (NDSS) to release an album of Frank Sinatra covers titled “Tremonti Sings Sinatra.”

The album of selections from Frank Sinatra’s catalog will be released as part of a new charity initiative created by Tremonti called Take a Chance for Charity. Proceeds from the album–scheduled for release on May 27, 2022–will go to support NDSS and the work it does to advocate for and support individuals with Down syndrome and their families. In March 2021, Mark and his family welcomed their first daughter Stella, who was born with Down syndrome, and the idea for the project was born.

“For years, I’ve loved singing along to Frank’s songs,” Tremonti said. “One night, I found an old video of him performing ‘The Song Is You’ from 1944. It made me want to dive into his vocal approach. I was all in and I wanted to do something with it. When we found out about our daughter Stella’s Down syndrome diagnosis, the stars aligned. My obsession with Sinatra had its reason. Frank Sinatra raised more than a billion dollars for charity and that is a fact I wish the public the public knew more about. Beneath his cool and calm persona, he had a big heart. Doing this charity in his name was another way the stars had aligned. I decided to do this record to raise funds for families and individuals with Down syndrome. This project is the start of a new purpose that I will have for the rest of my life.”

Tremonti has come together with surviving members of Frank Sinatra’s orchestra, creating new takes on some of the classics and some deeper cuts from Frank’s catalog. From the opening horns and piano of “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” to final vocal outro of “All or Nothing At All,” Tremonti showcases the signature vocal approach and musicianship that made Sinatra’s work timeless.

To see his vision through, Mark reached out to Sinatra’s musical director, Mike Smith, who collected as many remaining members as possible of Frank’s touring band to record the music for “Tremonti Sings Sinatra.” Popular standards like “I’ve Got the World on a String,” “My Way” and “That’s Life” find new life in the hands of these musicians. Tremonti leaves the guitarbehind and just sings on the 14-track album. The artwork on the album cover is an original painting that Tremonti created especially for this project.

“Tremonti Sings Sinatra” is available for pre-order here

Track listing:

1.    I’ve Got You Under My Skin
2.    I’ve Got the World on a String
3.    I Fall in Love Too Easily
4.    Wave
5.    Fly Me to the Moon
6.    Nancy (With the Laughing Face)
7.    My Way
8.   You Make Me Feel So Young
9.    Luck Be a Lady
10.  That’s Life
11.  Come Fly With Me
12.  In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning
13.  The Song Is You
14.  All or Nothing At All

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: