Machine Head to release 10th album ‘Of Kingdom and Crown’ on Aug. 26

Machine Head will released its 10th studio album, “Of Kingdom and Crown,” on Aug. 26, 2022, via Nuclear Blast x Imperium Recordings. The first video from the album, “Choke on the Ashes of Your Hate,” can be seen below.

Pre-order the album here, and pre-save here.

“Of Kingdom and Crown” is a 13-track concept album set in a decimated futuristic wasteland where the sky is stained crimson red. The crux of the story is based on two main characters: 

  • Ares (pronounced Aries): who loses the love of his life (Amethyst) and goes on a murderous rampage against the vile sect responsible for her murder.
  • Eros (pronounced Arrows): who loses his mother to a drug overdose and becomes radicalized in the aftermath. Eros goes off the deep end, manifesting his own killing spree. 

The lyrics detail how their lives intertwine.

“Thanks to my two teenage boys my family has become obsessed with this awesome Japanese anime series called ‘Attack on Titan,” Machine Head founder Robb Flynn said. “The album’s concept was loosely inspired by the series in the sense that in the storyline, there is no ‘good’ or ‘bad’ guy, both characters believe they’re doing the right thing as it applies to their being, but make no mistake, both are committing acts of pure atrocity and evil. The opening track “Slaughter the Martyr’ is basically (Ares’) origin story.”

The various physical formats of the album include 16 different worldwide vinyl formats, deluxe vinyl box set (with bonus tracks), CDs (both old-school longbox and jewel box options), multi-color cassettes and a limited-edition Digipak with bonus tracks. 

CDs, Digipak, cassettes and all digital formats will be available Aug 26, with all vinyl formats arriving Nov. 25.

“Of Kingdom and Crown” track list:

  1. Slaughter the Martyr
  2. Choke on the Ashes of Your Hate
  3. Become the Firestorm
  4. Overdose
  5. My Hands Are Empty
  6. Unhallowed
  7. Assimilate
  8. Kill Thy Enemies
  9. No Gods, No Masters
  10. Bloodshot
  11. Rotten
  12. Terminus
  13. Arrows in Words from the Sky

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: