Black metal band Nixil signs with Prosthetic Records, second album ‘From the Wound Spilled Forth Fire’ due Aug. 25

Baltimore, Maryland, black metal band Nixil has signed to Prosthetic Records, which will release its sophomore album, “From the Wound Spilled Forth Fire,” on Aug. 25, 2023. The band also has unveiled the single and video “Collapsing the Poles,” serves as an introduction to the new album’s spiritual themes of liberation through abyssal exploration.

“’From the Wound Spilled Forth Fire’ is the manifestation of the will of five individuals in collaboration, clawing toward catharsis and escape from the oppressive grasp of this rotting society,” the band said. “It is about finding power through adversity and the increase of spirit that can be gained through the intentional death of what our feeble human minds perceive as ‘Self.’ It is also a magickal act, containing hymns of rebellion and strength in honor of the teachers and muses along the ever-winding path toward liberation.”

Of the new single, the band said: “‘Collapsing the Poles’ is our siren song, heralding the breaking of the chains of demiurgic oppression through the recognition and eradication of the restrictive tendencies within the self (microcosm), allowing for the advancement of adversarial energy outward toward the seemingly unshakably oppressive forces of That Which Is (macrocosm). It is also an invocation of Void, creating a sacred space for all that which we seek to put out into the world, and a reminder that even in the moments where it seems unreachable, freedom is always worth fighting for.”

“Collapsing the Poles” will be available on all streaming platforms on May 24. Pre-order “From the Wound Spilled Forth Fire” here.

Having made its presence known with its 2021 debut, “All Knots Untied,” Nixil steadily has garnered a loyal following through live appearances across the United States, sharing stages with Hulder, Evoken, Molder and Yatra, and making an appearance at Maryland Deathfest 2022 along the way.

After solidifying its lineup in its current form with the arrival of guitarist/backing vocalist Alden, Nixil opted to record “From the Wound Spilled Forth Fire” live at Magpie Cage Recording Studio with J. Robbins.

From the Wound Spilled Forth Fire” track listing:

1. Collapsing the Poles
2. In Thrall
3. A Door Never Closed
4. From the Wound Spilled Forth Fire
5. Abyss Unto Abyss
6. The Way Is the Grave

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: