Black metal band Nixil shares ‘Abyss Unto Abyss’ video

Baltimore, Maryland-based black metal quintet Nixil has shared a new track and music video, “Abyss Unto Abyss.” The song serves as the third single from the band’s second album, “From yhe Wound Spilled Forth Fire,” nearing August release through Prosthetic Records. ” set for an Aug. 25, 2023, release via Prosthetic Records (pre-order here).

The video for “Abyss Unto Abyss” was produced by members of Nixil.

“‘Abyss Unto Abyss’ was written during a bout of intense insomnia resulting in a state of comatose lucidity,” the band said. “It is a channeled poem describing how to use these sometimes maddening altered states of consciousness to trigger personal evolution and explore those vast territories beyond our mundane existence.”

Having made its presence known with its 2021 debut, “All Knots Untied,” Nixil steadily has garnered a loyal following through live appearances across the United States, sharing stages with Hulder, Evoken, Molder and Yatra, and making an appearance at Maryland Deathfest 2022 along the way.

After solidifying its lineup in its current form with the arrival of guitarist/backing vocalist Alden, Nixil opted to record “From the Wound Spilled Forth Fire” live at Magpie Cage Recording Studio with J. Robbins.

From the Wound Spilled Forth Fire” track listing:

1. Collapsing the Poles
2. In Thrall
3. A Door Never Closed
4. From the Wound Spilled Forth Fire
5. Abyss Unto Abyss
6. The Way Is the Grave

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑