Napalm Death to release new album on Sept. 18

U.K. grindcore pioneer Napalm Death will release its new studio album, “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism,” on Sept. 18, 2020, via Century Media Records. The band’s follow-up to its 2015 album, “Apex Predator – Easy Meat,” was recorded with longtime producer Russ Russell and features artwork by Frode Sylthe.

“The phrase sticking in my mind when I started thinking about the lyrical direction for this album was ‘the other,’” Napalm Death vocalist Mike “Barney” Greenway said. “You could recognise at the time that there was a rapidly growing fear and paranoia being generated about everybody, from migrating people to people with fluid sexuality and this was starting to manifest itself in very antagonistic reactions that you felt were almost verging on violence. Not everybody resorts to such reactions of course, but even the basic lack of understanding can become toxic over time. I’m not saying that this is an entirely new phenomenon, but it has been stoked in recent history by some particularly attack-minded people in more political circles and, as ever, I felt that it would be the natural antidote to endorse basic humanity and solidarity with all.

“The artwork specifically uses a white dove as a centrepiece, which of course is a commonly recognised symbol of peace and cooperation. The dove has been mauled very violently by a sterilising hand and in death appears particularly broken and bloodied. However, through the violence you can see an equality symbol in blood on the chest of the dove, which perhaps demonstrates – visually at least – that equality cuts through in the end. A positive amidst many negatives then, much like the album title itself being a bit of an oxymoron – the celebration of humanity even in the mangling jaws of negativity.”

“Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” track list:

1. F**k the Factoid
2. Backlash Just Because
3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
4. Contagion
5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
6. Invigorating Clutch
7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
8. Fluxing of the Muscle
9. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

A first single off “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” will be launched July 24 as pre-orders become available. Look out for further details and the various album formats to be revealed soon.

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: