Cradle of Filth to release ‘Existence is Futile’ on Oct. 22

Cradle of Filth will release its 13th studio album, “Existence is Futile,” on Oct. 22, 2021, via Nuclear Blast Records. Recorded during the lockdown periods of 2020 and pieced together in isolation at Grindstone Studios in Suffolk, England, with studio guru Scott Atkins (Devilment/Benediction/Vader), the record is available for pre-order here.

Cradle of Filth also has released the new song “Crawling King Chaos,” with a music video directed by Vicente Cordero.

“The album is about existentialism, existential dread and fear of the unknown,” frontman Dani Filth said. “The concept wasn’t created by the pandemic. We’d written it long before that began, but the pandemic is the tip of the cotton-bud as far as the way the world is headed, you know? I guess the title, ‘Existence is Futile,’ does sound a little morbid. But again, it’s more about recognizing that truth and saying that everything is permitted because nothing really matters, which mimics the occultist Aleister Crowley’s maxim. We all know we’re going to die, so we might as well indulge life while we possess it. The final track on the album–‘Us, Dark, Invincible’–really drives that point home. Also, the artwork for this record was created by the Latvian visionary Arthur Berzinsh, who also dressed the last two albums, and that reeks of the exceedingly beautiful yet apocalyptic too.”

Diehard fans will be thrilled to learn horror icon Doug “Pinhead” Bradley makes a return to the Cradle fold, lending his tones to the band’s most politically astute song to date, “Suffer Our Dominion,” as well as the album bonus track “Sisters of the Mist,” which is the conclusion to the “Her Ghost in the Fog” trilogy that started over 20 years ago on “Midian.”

“Existence is Futile” will be available in the following formats:

– CD jewelcase
– CD digipak (incl. 2 bonus tracks)
– Collector’s edition boxset including digipak, 2LP in gatefold, necklace with band symbol pendant, five buttons, flag with album artwork, lyric sheet from Dani Filth (also available as strictly limited NB mailorder edition featuring an alternative cover artwork)
– 2 LP in gatefold with 2 bonus tracks:
– Black
– Picture
– Glow in the dark
– Red + yellow marbled (NB mailorder excl.)
– Purple + black marbled (UK exclusive)
– Silver + black splatter (US exclusive)
– Blue transparent (EMP excl.)
– White + black marbled (Revolver excl.)
– Cassette tape (US exclusive)

“Existence is Futile” consists of 12 new tracks with a total playing time of 54 minutes:

– The Fate of the World on Our Shoulders
– Existential Terror
– Necromantic Fantasies
– Crawling King Chaos
– Here Comes a Candle… (Infernal Lullaby)
– Discourse Between a Man and His Soul
– The Dying of the Embers
– Ashen Mortality
– How Many Tears to Nurture a Rose?
– Suffer Our Dominion
– Us, Dark, Invincible
– Sisters of the Mist (Bonus track)
– Unleash the Hellion (Bonus track)

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: