Matt Heafy’s Ibaraki to release debut album ‘Rashomon’ on May 6

Trivium singer and guitarist Matthew Kiichi Heafy’s Ibaraki project will release its debut album, “Rashomon,” on May 6, 2022, via Nuclear Blast Records. The band also has shared the video for “Akumu” (Feat. Nergal).

“‘Akumu’ translates to ‘nightmare’ — and with this piece, I encourage the listener to work to find their interpretations of what they feel from the lyrics, music, and the haunting visuals of the music video,” Heafy said. “I have always been fascinated by Sagazan’s ‘Transfiguration,’ and for years, I have wanted to pay homage to his works with a performance art piece; to finally be able to immerse myself in his style was an intense experience.”

He finished: “Having Nergal guest in this Ihsahn co-written piece allowed me to combine many of my long-time influences; and when I presented with Nergal of the challenge of translating my lyrics into Polish, it brought the song to another level.”

Last month, Ibaraki offered fans a taste and a tease of the music by sharing the video for “Tamashii No Houkai,” featuring Ihsahn of Emperor fame, who is a core contributor and partner in this project.

Fans will be able to listen to “Akumu” and “Tamashii No Houkai” by pre-saving here.

Pre-order the album “Rashomon” on CD, vinyl, cassette and T-Shirt + CD bundle here.

Track listing:

“Hakanaki Hitsuzen”
“Jigoku Dayū”
Tamashii No Houkai
“Akumu” (Feat. Nergal)
“Rōnin” (Feat. Gerard Way)
“Susanoo No Mikoto” (Feat. Ihsahn)

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: