Machine Head releases new song ‘Unhallowed’

Machine Head has released the new track “Unhallowed, ” along with an accompanying video shot live from the band’s Electric Happy Hour series. Stream the new track here and watch the live video below. The song is from the band’s 10th studio album, “Of Kingdom and Crown,” which will be released on Aug. 26, 2022, via Nuclear Blast/Imperium Recordings. Pre-orders available here.

“Drowning in the deepest depression of his life, Eros is at a breaking point,” Machine Head founder Robb Flynn said. “Collecting heartaches, loss, and near psychotic isolation, ‘Unhallowed’ is the beginning of a powerful shift of our story. An introspective narrative starts the song lyrically, which is a collaborative effort written by myself, guitarist Wacław ‘Vogg’ Kiełtyka and bassist/backing vocalist Jared MacEachern and encapsulates the collective strength of this writing team.  

“Anchored by an absolutely monstrous groove, the vocals melodically mirror the state of mind of Eros as he reels from the loss of his mother to a drug overdose and begins a slow downward spiral into madness. However, the culmination of the track infuses some much-needed light, but will it be enough?”

“Of Kingdom and Crown” is a 13-track concept album set in a decimated futuristic wasteland where the sky is stained crimson red. The crux of the story is based on two main characters: 

  • Ares (pronounced Aries): who loses the love of his life (Amethyst) and goes on a murderous rampage against the vile sect responsible for her murder.
  • Eros (pronounced Arrows): who loses his mother to a drug overdose and becomes radicalized in the aftermath. Eros goes off the deep end, manifesting his own killing spree. 

The lyrics detail how their lives intertwine.

The various physical formats of the album include 16 different worldwide vinyl formats, deluxe vinyl box set (with bonus tracks), CDs (both old-school longbox and jewel box options), multi-color cassettes and a limited-edition Digipak with bonus tracks. 

CDs, Digipak, cassettes and all digital formats will be available Aug 26, with all vinyl formats arriving Nov. 25.

“Of Kingdom and Crown” track list:

  1. Slaughter the Martyr
  2. Choke on the Ashes of Your Hate
  3. Become the Firestorm
  4. Overdose
  5. My Hands Are Empty
  6. Unhallowed
  7. Assimilate
  8. Kill Thy Enemies
  9. No Gods, No Masters
  10. Bloodshot
  11. Rotten
  12. Terminus
  13. Arrows in Words from the Sky

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑