Doom metal act Frayle shares new single ‘Bright Eyes’

Doom metal act Frayle has shared the new single/video “Bright Eyes” from its upcoming album, “Skin & Sorrow,” due Sept. 23, 2022, via Aqualamb Records.

Filmed in New York City and Salem, Massachusetts, the infamous site of the Salem Witch Trials, the video is a meditation on empowerment and shedding the mask to reveal the true self.

“’Bright Eyes’ is about the facade we wear when we’re going through something heavy,” vocalist Gwyn Strang said. “Sometimes we’ll mask what we’re going through so that everyone around us feels comfortable or doesn’t ask us to show and share our vulnerabilities.

“The imagery of a female ‘goth’ roller skating past the house that was once lived in by a judge that was personally responsible for the executions during the Salem Witch Trials is powerful to us.” declared, “Embracing a unique balance of doom that encapsulates an element of the harmonious and the hulking, the band’s pedigree spans a sophisticated stylistic spectrum … Anchored by Strang’s often heartbreaking, harrowing vocal harmony is countered by (guitarist Sean) Bilovecky’s metallic blare – the kind of lumbering guitar riffage that layers with suffocating heft.”

“Skin & Sorrow” was written and recorded by Bilovecky and Strang from the third floor of their own studio, on the edge of Cleveland, Ohio, surrounded by ancient lakes and woods that echo the howls of coyotes. The band is rounded out live by Jason Knotek on bass and Jon Vinson on drums.

The record follows Frayle’s 2020 debut “1692,” which further introduced the world to their penchant for creating “lullabies over chaos.” Tracks feature Strang’s ambient vocals laid over the instrumentals of Bilovecky (formerly of Disengage), morphing into disturbing harmonies best described as music for the night sky.

In addition to haunting original tracks that push heavy music into new dimensions (an inspirational mix of Sleep and Portishead, or Black Sabbath and Bjork), the duo is known for its cryptic covers, including takes on Johnny Cash’s “Ring of Fire” and Bauhaus’ “Bela Lugosi’s Dead.”

Revolver named the band “one of the five artists you need to know in April” as seen here, who called its previously released title track “eerie and ethereal for its first half, but slowly lets more crunchy fuzz into the fold that builds up to a detonating finish with gobs of spiritual atmosphere.” Metal Hammer heralded Frayle as “the new face of doom” in its latest issue.

Recently, Frayle signed to the Oracle Management, becoming part of a roster that includes Cradle of Filth, DevilDriver, Jinjer, Wednesday 13 and more hard rock and metal acts all represented by Oracle co-owners Dez and Anahstasia Fafara. In one of the first orders of business, Frayle joined Cradle of Filth’s “Existence Is Futile” headlining tour.

“Skin & Sorrow” track listing:

1.   Treacle & Revenge
2.   Bright Eyes
3.   Skin & Sorrow
4.   Ipecac
5.   Stars
6.   Roses
7.   Sacrifant
8.   All The Things I Was
9.   Song for the Dead
10.  Perfect Wound

Pre-sales for “Skin & Sorrow” are available at Aqualamb Records’ website, with iridescent, metallic blue, metallic turquoise and metallic violet vinyl variants, CD and digital options. Additional Europe-only vinyl variants will be coming via Lay Bare Recordings. Each purchase comes with an accompanying 100-page book filled with artwork, lyrics and additional content to get inside the mind of Frayle and the creative process.

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: