Black Stone Cherry to release eighth album ‘Screamin’ at the Sky’ on Sept. 29

Black Stone Cherry will release its eighth studio album, “Screamin’ at the Sky,” on Sept. 29, 2023, via Mascot Records. It will be available on white solid vinyl, limited edition vinyl box set, CD and digitally. Pre-orders are live here.

The band also has revealed another new track, “Nervous,” along with its official music video. Earlier this year, Black Stone Cherry released the album’s lead single, “Out of Pocket.”

The Kentucky-based band, featuring Chris Robertson (lead vocals/guitar), Ben Wells (guitar/backing vocals) and John-Fred Young (drums/backing vocals), is joined for the first time on an album recording by bassist Steve Jewell Jr. (ex-Otis). Jewell joined Black Stone Cherry in 2021.

“Filming the video for ‘Nervous’ was an amazing experience.  Like being on a movie set!” the band said. “We spent the day in an old paint factory-turned-production studio that had all of these amazing sets for TV and movies. The actor, Mateo Palmitier, did an AMAZING job as the lead character and it was such a cool experience seeing all of these visions come to life thanks to our director, Kyle Loftus and his incredible team.  We love how the video will go between our performance, a great story line, and some killer visuals!”

“Every band that puts out a new record will tell you they are excited–as they should be. However, we may take the award for being the most excited about releasing a new album into the world!” the band said. “We can guarantee that it’ll move you in one way or another. We had a lot to say lyrically, musically and sonically. We pushed ourselves to create not only something relevant, but also pushing the envelope to bend the trend. We are truly proud of this collection of songs and we hope you’ll celebrate it with us.”

“Screamin’ at the Sky” track list:

1. Out of Pocket
2. Screamin’ at the Sky
3. Nervous
4. When the Pain Comes
5. Show Me What It Feels Like
6. R.O.A.R.
7. Smile, World
8. The Mess You Made
9. Who Are You Today?
10. Not Afraid
11. Here’s to the Hopeless
12. You Can Have It All

“Screamin’ at the Sky” features material written collaboratively while on tour, but when it came time to record, the band decided to try something it’s always dreamed of doing: tracking an album at The Plaza Theater in Glasgow, Kentucky–a legendary 1,020-seat venue built in 1934 that boasts meticulous acoustics.

“Every time we played the Plaza, we wondered what it would sound like to record drums there. We finally decided to put all our eggs in one basket,” Robertson said.

In June 2022, the band rented the whole place, brought in all its recording equipment and its engineer, Jordan Westfall. They set up the basement as the control room and the stage as the live drum room.

Black Stone Cherry’s previous studio album, “The Human Condition,” was released in October 2020. In 2022, the band released the live album “Live from the Royal Albert Hall … Y’all.”

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: