Asinhell, featuring Volbeat’s Michael Poulsen, shares ‘Island of Dead Men’ lyric video

Asinhell, the new death metal band featuring Volbeat’s Michael Poulsen, has shared the new song “Island of Dead Men.” Watch the lyric video below.

“‘Island of Dead Men’ was the second song I wrote for the album,” Poulsen said. “It’s one of the faster and more aggressive songs on the record, but with a groovy Death chorus and a solid middle piece that hails the mighty Autopsy. Enjoy … or don’t!”

In an interview with Live Metal, Poulsen said the song tells a story of cannibalism. “… There’s only two guys left, and they are good friends, and one ends up eating his good friend,” he said. “Then there’s only himself left at the very end, so he starts eating himself.”

The song is from Asinhell’s debut album, “Impii Hora,” which will be released Sept. 29, 2023, via Metal Blade. Pre-order it here.

Poulsen has rekindled the death metal fire that fueled his first band Dominus. He began jamming on riffs with longtime friend and neighbor, drummer Morten Toft Hansen (Raunchy). The two started playing in Morten’s tiny garage: no mics, no P.A.—just a drum kit and a combo amp turned all the way up like they used when they were teenagers. Soon, the pair were completing a new song every time they got together. When it came time to add vocals, Poulsen turned to his good friend, who also happened to be one of his all-time favorite death metal growlers: Marc Grewe (Insidious Disease, ex-Morgoth).

“I had known Michael quite a long time and he always mentioned that we should do a death metal project one day, but I never took him too seriously because he was so busy with Volbeat,” Grewe said. “Then he called for real and said, ‘Yeah, I want to do it now. Are you up for it?’ Immediately, I was like, ‘Yes, of course!’”

With Asinhell fully formed, the three convened with Volbeat producer Jacob Hansen to produce, mix, and play bass on their debut album. When it was time to add lead guitar to the album, Michael looked no further than friend and The Arcane Order axeman Flemming C. Lund.

The album will be available in the following formats:

  • Jewel case CD
  • 180g Black Vinyl (Europe excl.)
  • Crimson Red Marbled Vinyl (Europe excl.)
  • White Vinyl (Europe excl., ltd. 1000)
  • Gold/Black Dust (EMP excl., ltd.300)
  • Clear w/ Red/White Splatter Vinyl (Europe Band store excl., ltd. 500)
  • Silver Vinyl (US excl.)
  • Silver w/ Red Splatter Vinyl (US. excl.)
  • Black & White Melt Vinyl (US excl.)
  • Red/Black Splatter Vinyl (US Band store excl., ltd. 500)

Asinhell previously released a music video for its first single, “Fall of the Loyal Warrior.”

“Impii Hora” track listing:

“Fall of the Loyal Warrior”    
“Inner Sancticide”    
“Island of Dead Men”    
“The Ultimate Sin”    
“Wolfpack Laws”    
“Desert of Doom”    
“Pyromantic Scryer”    
“Impii Hora”
“Foj for Helvede”

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑