Soulfly’s ‘Ritual’: Everything you need to know (so far)

Led by the legendary, Max Cavalera, metal icons Soulfly are set to release their devastating new album “Ritual,” on October 19 via Nuclear Blast. In March of 2018, we talked with Max  about the upcoming Soulfly record and he had this to say:

It’s a strange record—really classic sounding on one hand but crazy on the other. A lot of songs are really wild or weird. Some of them have three choruses, tribal intros and a lot of cool fast stuff, too. I’m really happy that we kept that, because I’ve always loved the death/trash kind of thing. It’s always been a part of me. The first song, “Cenobites,” is one of my favorite songs. It’s all put together really good, and I think this is going to be a quite strong Soulfly record. I feel very positive listening to it, and I think a lot of people are going to like it. I think I’m in a good inspirational mode right now, coming out of “Archangel” and “Psychosis” and, of course, Killer Be Killed. So this (new Soulfly) is part of this really inspired Max that’s been going on.

Read our full interview with Max here.

Well now, we finally have some more details on the soon-to-be-released Soulfly record.
Today, the band has released the first of several album trailers. Watch guitarist/vocalist Max discuss recording “Ritual” and working with producer Josh Wilbur, below:

Check out the first single from “Ritual,” “Evil Empowered”:

“Ritual” was produced, recorded and mixed by Josh Wilbur (Killer Be Killed, Lamb Of God, Gojira). Cover artwork was painted by artist Eliran Kantor (Testament, Iced Earth, Sodom). Additional booklet art was handled by Marcelo Vasco (Slayer, Hatebreed, Kreator), who also handled the package design. The album features multiple guests including Randy Blythe (Lamb Of God) and Ross Dolan (Immolation).

Pre-order Soulfly’s eleventh studio album “Ritual,” in various physical and digital formats here.

“Ritual” track listing:
1. Ritual
2. Dead Behind The Eyes (feat. Randy Blythe)
3. The Summoning
4. Evil Empowered
5. Under Rapture (feat. Ross Dolan)
6. Demonized
7. Blood On The Street
8. Bite The Bullet
9. Feedback!
10. Soulfly XI

More on “Ritual”:

Visit SOULFLY online at:

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: