Liquid Tension Experiment sets new album for March 26 release

Instrument supergroup Liquid Tension Experiment will release its new album, “LTE3,” on March 26, 2021, via InsideOutMusic, 22 years after its last studio album.

The band comprises Mike Portnoy (Transatlantic, Sons of Apollo), John Petrucci (Dream Theater), Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater) and Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel).

“After over 20 years since the last time we recorded together,” Petrucci said, “the four of us stepped into the studio and it was as if no time had passed at all! All of the magic that made the first two LTE albums so special was still there and we had such a great time making this record. I’m extremely proud of what we created together and can’t wait for everyone to hear it!”

Portnoy, who reunited with his former Dream Theater bandmate Petrucci—Portnoy left Dream Theater in 2010—last year on Petrucci’s “Terminal Velocity” solo album, said: “The best thing to come out of 2020 was this long-awaited reunion! And it was surely worth the wait as after all these years, the magic chemistry was still there and stronger than ever!”

“LTE3” track listing:

1. Hypersonic (8:22)
2. Beating the Odds (6:09)
3. Liquid Evolution (3:23)
4. The Passage of Time (7:32)
5. Chris & Kevin’s Amazing Odyssey (5:04)
6. Rhapsody in Blue (13:16)
7. Shades of Hope (4:42)
8. Key to the Imagination (13:14)

A bonus disc will feature almost an hour of improvised jams.

The pre-order will start on Jan. 22, 2021, and the album will be available as:

• Limited deluxe hot pink 3LP+2CD+Blu-ray Box Set (including a poster and 4 artcards, Blu-ray includes a 5.1 surround mix with visuals, and full band interview from the studio)
• Limited 2CD+Blu-ray Artbook
• Limited 2CD Digipak
• Gatefold black 2LP+CD
• Digital album (2CD)

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑