The Lucid, featuring former Megadeth bassist David Ellefson, releases first song, debut album set for Oct. 15

Vocalist Vinnie Dombroski (Sponge), guitarist Drew Fortier, bassist David Ellefson (Megadeth) and drummer Mike Heller (Fear Factory, Raven) have come together as The Lucid and have released “Maggot Wind,” the first single from their self-titled debut album (Oct. 15, 2021, SpoilerHead Records).

Pre-order the album here.

The album was produced by Mike Heller and mixed/mastered by Lasse Lammert.

Track listing:

  1. Maggot Wind
  2. Deaths of Despair
  3. Spoiler Head
  4. Hair
  5. Maskronaut
  6. Damned
  7. Breech Boy
  8. Pigs and Sons
  9. Parade of Spit

“It’s been a real blast making a record with these guys and I must say that it’s refreshing to explore some new musical avenues … to step out a bit from what each of us have done stylistically in our own careers,” Ellefson said. “There was an effortless synergy that came with creating these songs together which is always amazing when working with new people. I’m looking forward to everyone checking it out!”

Ellefson and Fortier also have announced the pre-order for their found footage horror film “Dwellers,” which will be released Oct. 12 on Blu-ray and digital streaming services and is available now in various limited edition pre-order bundles at

Ellefson and Fortier will also be appearing at the following events:

Crypticon, Minneapolis, MN – Sept. 10-12
Dead Conventions, Fort Wayne, IN – Oct 15-17
Chiller Theater, Parsippany, NJ – Oct 29-31

Vinnie Dombroski is on the heels of the latest Sponge record, “Lavatorium,” and Mike Heller can be heard on the new Fear Factory album “Aggression Continuum” and most recent Raven album, “Metal City.”

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: