The Dark Side of the Moon to release debut album ‘Metamorphosis’ on May 12

The Dark Side of the Moon, the metal quartet formed by members of Feuerschwanz, Amaranthe and Ad Infinitum, will release its debut album, “Metamorphosis,” on May 12, 2023, via Napalm Records.

With this album, the unit around Ad Infinitum vocalist Melissa Bonny and Feuerschwanz guitaris Hans Platz dips its soundscapes into mystical worlds, reinterpreting famous soundtrack themes and writing original songs dedicated to the band members’ favorite characters.

Setting off to the fantastic universe of Harry Potter, the first single, “Double Trouble / Lumos! (Hedwig’s Theme)” is a metallized medley mix featuring the tune of “Hedwig’s Theme,” cut from the beloved movie theme song featured throughout the entire film series, and the bewitching “Double Trouble,” taken from the third movie. The song comes along with a lavish music video and shines with additional input from sensational violinist Rusanda Panfili, who complements the mystical and eerie atmosphere.

“We are happy to finally visit Hogwarts with you and to show you its dark side,” the band said. “When we first talked about transforming ‘Double Trouble’ we were not sure the song would allow us to do it. But strangely, combined with the classical violin and the heavy guitars, the explosive drums, the enchanting harp and Melissa’s mesmerizing voice, the magic happens! We are thrilled to have Rusanda Panfili joining us on this quest. Among other things she is a violin soloist for Hans Zimmer, one of the most famous movie score composers. Together, we created a metal cover of this legendary movie score written by John Williams.”

The Dark Side of the Moon started with a bet between Bonny and Platz. Whoever lost owed the other a “dare.” Platz won and challenged Bonny to record a metal version of “Jenny of Oldstones,” and the rest is history. Exploring the fantastical lives of famous pop culture heroes since their childhood, the musicians transform soundtracks of movies, TV shows and video games into powerful metal tracks on “Metamorphosis.”

“We are excited to finally announce our debut album ‘Metamorphosis!'” the band said. “At the time we just had one song (‘Jenny of Oldstones’) and were asked to make a full album, we had to start from scratch a journey which led us from the depth of Moria all the way up to the top of the Misty Mountains. We are beyond proud to also present you three original songs on the album! It goes without saying that we cannot wait to hear your response to what we have been preparing for more than a year. Welcome to the dark side!”

“Metamorphosis” track listing:

1. Legends Never Die
2. The Gates of Time
3. Misty Mountains (feat. Tom S. Englund)
4. Double Trouble / Lumos! (Hedwig’s Theme) (feat. Rusanda Panfili)
5. First Light (feat. Rusanda Panfili)
6. New Horizons (feat. Fabienne Erni)
7. The Wolven Storm (Priscilla’s Song)
8. May It Be (feat. Charlotte Wessels)
9. If I Had a Heart
10. The Hanging Tree
11. Jenny of Oldstones

“Metamorphosis” will be available in the following formats:     

  • 1-CD Digisleeve in Cloth Bag (incl. Pendant, Leather Cord & Keyring , Patch, Signed Card) – limited to 300 copies worldwide (Napalm Records shop exclusive
  • 1-LP Gatefold (black)      
  • Shirt ” Metamorphosis” + Digisleeve           
  • 1-CD Digisleeve
  • Digital Album

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: