The Dark Side of the Moon shares second original song, ‘New Horizons’

The Dark Side of the Moon has revealed the second original song of its catalog to date, “New Horizons,” just in time for the release of its debut album, “Metamorphosis,” out Friday, May 12, 2023, via Napalm Records (pre-order here). In addition, the track release aligns with the band’s first live show ever, supporting Feuerschwanz and Warkings.

The music video for the band’s first original song, “The Gates of Time,” has racked up 500,000 views on YouTube to date, and covers of the “Game of Thrones” track “Jenny of Oldstones” and “Lord of the Rings” soundtrack song “May It Be” have totaled more than a million streams and video views combined.

On “New Horizons,” the four-piece consisting of musicians from Feuerschwanz, Amaranthe and Ad Infinitum is joined by Fabienne Erni of Eluveitie.

“Finally, the time has come, we are about to release our debut album!” the band said. “And to celebrate this, there is a new video.. It’s the second self-written song you’ll hear from us, and as a guest we have the fantastic Fabienne Erni from Eluveitie–a very special honor for us!”

The Dark Side of the Moon started with a bet between Ad Infinitum vocalist Melissa Bonny and Feuerschwanz guitarist Hans Platz. Whoever lost owed the other a “dare.” Platz won and challenged Bonny to record a metal version of “Jenny of Oldstones,” and the rest is history. Exploring the fantastical lives of famous pop culture heroes since their childhood, the musicians transform soundtracks of movies, TV shows and video games into powerful metal tracks on “Metamorphosis.”

“We are excited to finally announce our debut album ‘Metamorphosis!’” the band said. “At the time we just had one song (‘Jenny of Oldstones’) and were asked to make a full album, we had to start from scratch a journey which led us from the depth of Moria all the way up to the top of the Misty Mountains. We are beyond proud to also present you three original songs on the album! It goes without saying that we cannot wait to hear your response to what we have been preparing for more than a year. Welcome to the dark side!”

“Metamorphosis” track listing:

1. Legends Never Die
2. The Gates of Time
3. Misty Mountains (feat. Tom S. Englund)
4. Double Trouble / Lumos! (Hedwig’s Theme) (feat. Rusanda Panfili)
5. First Light (feat. Rusanda Panfili)
6. New Horizons (feat. Fabienne Erni)
7. The Wolven Storm (Priscilla’s Song)
8. May It Be (feat. Charlotte Wessels)
9. If I Had a Heart
10. The Hanging Tree
11. Jenny of Oldstones

“Metamorphosis” will be available in the following formats:     

  • 1-CD Digisleeve in Cloth Bag (incl. Pendant, Leather Cord & Keyring , Patch, Signed Card) – limited to 300 copies worldwide (Napalm Records shop exclusive
  • 1-LP Gatefold (black)      
  • Shirt ” Metamorphosis” + Digisleeve           
  • 1-CD Digisleeve
  • Digital Album

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: